A Day to Shine

A Day to Shine Logo

A Day to Shine Fashion Show Baseball Group A Day to Shine Fashion Show Runway


The seventh annual A Day to Shine  will be held on Saturday, April 12th, 2014 at the Westin Domain. This year, A Day to Shine  will benefit Expect Respect, a program of SafePlace.

At our Afternoon Dessert, our guest speaker will be Texas Longhorn great, Doug English, who was inducted into the Texas Sports Hall of Fame in February. During his ten-year career with the Detroit Lions, Doug was a four-time Pro Bowler and distinguished himself as the Most Valuable Defensive Player.


At the evening Gala, Kathryn and Beau Ross
will be presented with the LifeStyle Award.

Kathryn and Beau Ross

The LifeStyle Award exemplifies an individual or couple who demonstrates a commitment to inspiring healthy and positive relationships through strength of character, inspirational leadership, and service to others.


Because one in three adolescents in the U. S. is a victim of physical, sexual, emotional or verbal abuse from a dating partner, A Day to Shine was developed in 2008 as an event to increase awareness of and raise monies for the prevention of dating abuse. A Day to Shine is actually two
events in one; the first is an afternoon dessert and fashion show targeted at the youth and athletes of middle and high schools of Texas.

Our goal in the afternoon is to increase their awareness of dating abuse and healthy relationships, so they can work to help stop abuse wherever and however they encounter it throughout their lives.

The evening event is a dinner, fashion show and gala to raise monies to continue the programs of Expect Respect, which reaches thousands of young people through counseling, school support groups, community outreach, and education for the significant adults in the lives of our youth.

Evening Celebrity Guest Models include:

Keri Bellacosa
Christopher Garvey
Melinda Garvey
Greg Hamilton
Andra Liemandt
Suzanne McFayden-Smith
Cindy Sexton
Steve Wertheimer

Thank you for your interest in the 2014 A Day to Shine, and we’ll see you on April 12!

2014 Steering Committee

Expect Respect Champions

Committee Chair: Julie StevensonCo-Chairs: Felicia Hester & Rachael Wyatt
Jill AmerieMary Ball
Tracy AndersonGeorge Casey
Mary BallKaren Casey
Holly GrandcolasJune Cook
Felicia HesterSherrie English
Patti HinnersWendy Fischer
Meredith LandryEllen Gold
Candace LopezDesiree Hernandez
Jennie PrideauxClaudia Humphrey
Louise ReddingKacy O’Hare
Barri RosenbluthSuzanne Platte
Ari StuerzelNikki Salzillo
Sue WebberJohanna Vernick
Barb WheatMargaret Walker
Carol Yontz

Diamond Sponsor

Luther King Capital Management